Curriculum for Wales

A new curriculum for Wales has been developed with education professionals across Wales.

Schools will have some flexibility in determining how and when they begin first teaching of the new curriculum. By September 2022 settings and schools will be using the new curriculum to underpin teaching and learning for children and young people aged 3-16. 

4 purposes

The 4 purposes will be at the heart of the new curriculum. They will be the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people to be:

  • ambitious, capable learners ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising, creative contributors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical, informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society. 

Key elements

The new curriculum will include:

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience from 3 to 16
  • 3 cross curriculum responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence
  • progression reference points at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
  • achievement outcomes which describe expected achievements at each progression reference point.

The curriculum will be organised into 6 Areas of Learning and Experience:

  • Expressive arts
  • Health and well-being
  • Humanities (including RE which should remain compulsory to age 16)
  • Languages, literacy and communication (including Welsh, which should remain compulsory to age 16, and modern foreign languages)
  • Mathematics and numeracy
  • Science and technology (including computer science)

New Curriculum for Wales / Cwricwlwm y Gymru – Welsh Government Documents

New Curriculum for Wales / Cwricwlwm y Gymru – Information for Children

New Curriculum for Wales / Cwricwlwm y Gymru – Information for Parents

Cwricwlwm i Gymru